Life as a Sam Boy: From Inside the Creepiest Cult of our Time

I would’ve never described myself as a believer per se. Perhaps better put, a non-active believer. I was given religious instruction at primary school (elementary) – which is infuriating. My parents had me don a pretty white dress for my Christening, not because we were religious, but because it was what people did. And although I never attended Church nor had I read the bible, I accepted the truth of God, Jesus’ existence and the afterlife, uncritically. I was never told any different, and from primary school onward, I never really thought about God or religion, all I knew was, I got chocolate and received gifts on Jesus’ birthday and resurrection. What kid would question that! When my uncle died – he had no legs due to the type II diabetes that killed him – I placed a letter in his coffin, confident in the belief he would read it in heaven.  In the letter I wrote, “Don’t be sad uncle, now you’re in heaven, God will give you back your legs”. So in retrospect I guess I was quite the little believer. I’m not too hard on myself for this, evolution makes credulous creatures, and I trusted in the consensus of others. Overcoming credulity and shedding bad ideas is one of most liberating endeavors a person can undertake. It began for me at 20 years old, after a break-up. I read the bible, trying to find some meaning in life. I was an atheist by the time I finished Leviticus. I then read Richard Dawkins’ God Delusion, was then introduced to the work of Christopher Hitchens – one month after he died – and of course, through them I came across my dear leader Sam Harris.

According to some I’ve just described how I was brainwashed and became a member of the “creepiest cult of our time”, led by the messianic Sam Harris. Our cult has been wittily dubbed The Sam Boys – a play on the term fan boys – but I assure you, that’s the extent of their wit. And what about the females that defend Sam against blatant obscurantism? Well, they’re the most brainwashed! The cult keeps them around to guard against charges of sexism, but they’re confined to the basement – brainwashing chamber – with the House Arabs, who are used to cloak our white supremacist agenda, don’t worry we pay our native informants a wage. Sound bat shit? Read through the twitter feeds and articles of regressive leftists and their supporters. This is the picture they want to paint. Not quite Picasso, more Pollack flinging his own feces. The scary part is, they’re quite good at this technique. When I read the regressive view of Sam’s thought experiment on nuclear war, I had to double-take. Did he say that? What an asshole! Their distortionism led me, someone who knows Sam’s views, to believe – albeit briefly – their version. I then picked up my copy of The End of Faith and saw the claim for the excrement it was. See here and here to see for yourself if you can’t stand to read the book. Also, if you want a laugh see what someone sent me, when I asked him what criteria people have to meet to be considered a member of this “cult”. Notice the tactics described actually apply more to the regressive left than “Sam Boys”. I begged him to write an essay on how Sam meets the criteria for cult leader because it would be hilarious. He said he might just do that, I sincerely hope so!

“Of course, Sam Boy owns The End of Faith and refers back to it like the bible!” Well I’ll admit, and I hope I’m not shunned by my fellow cult members here, that I don’t own the entire canon. I own The End of Faith, Letter to a Christian Nation, Free Will and Islam and the Future of Tolerance. I have read The Moral Landscape and Lying – something Cenk Uygur should read, and if he has already, maybe he should re-read it – but I’m not particularly interested in Waking Up – blasphemy! Although I did watch the lecture. In all honesty, until recently I stopped paying attention to Sam because I felt I knew his views so well, and paying too much attention to him, meant I’d miss out on following other worthwhile thinkers like Ali A. Rizvi, Faisal Saeed al-Mutar, Douglas Murray, Maajid Nawaz, Asra Nomani and so on. I don’t think my dear leader would begrudge me that? Alas, here I am, a full-fledged Sam Boy and avid defender. Because there’s one thing I can’t stand, intellectual dishonesty. So if it makes me a Sam Boy to stand up for intellectual honesty and integrity so be it, but don’t try to deny my agency like you do others. According to regressives, ex-Muslims and reformers are brainwashed House Muslims/Arabs and/or native informants, Islamists don’t act, they REACT to the Wests behavior, and therefore aren’t really responsible, and now they would have people believe, that agreeing with or defending Sam Harris, means you must be brainwashed and a member of his tribalistic creepy cult. Well, get Donald Ducked!

Regressive’s purposefully distort to get people to believe outlandish claims about Sam and the issue of Islamism, but given the accessibility of information which enables investigation into their claims, failing to see their tactics for what they are, doesn’t mean you’ve been brainwashed, it just means you’re being dishonest. I said at the start, overcoming bad ideas is one of the most liberating endeavors a person can undertake. The regressive left is, to quote my dear leader “the mother lode of bad ideas”, or rather “A mother lode of bad ideas”. It is no surprise they have aligned themselves with purveyors of Islamism. They have set the war of ideas back decades and must be challenged, ridiculed, and defeated. No, they’re not brainwashed. Unlike them, I’ll leave their dignity intact – even though they seem determined to tear it asunder – because that’s not an escape route I am willing to leave open to them. Because when the world looks back to see when and how we got it so wrong. They should be held fully responsible for their blunders.

Life as a Sam Boy: From Inside the Creepiest Cult of our Time

Leave a Reply

